Call for Candidates
icon Home HK

The Town of Hamilton Democratic Committee would like to hear from those who want to be considered for nomination for Town Offices to be elected on November 3, 2009.  Positions to be elected in 2009 include Supervisor, Clerk, and Highway Superintendent (all for two-year terms). In addition, the Town Justice as well as two members of the Town Council will be elected for four-year terms.

The Town Clerk and Highway Superintendent are full-time salaried positions with benefits. Each requires specific skills, though the state does provide some additional training. The Town Clerk should have financial records-keeping, budget preparation, computer, and office management skills.  The highway superintendent should have experience with road maintenance and equipment and the ability to prepare budgets and reports, respond to emergencies, and supervise other workers.

The Town Supervisor and the Town Council members are part-time positions. The Supervisor is the town executive who oversees the town office and presides over the Town Council, which enacts the town budget and town ordinances. The Supervisor also represents the town on the County Board of Supervisors.  He or she must attend monthly meetings in Wampsville on Tuesday mornings as well as carry out committee assignments for the county. The supervisor receives stipends from the town and the county as well as benefits.  The town council members receive a nominal stipend and meet at least monthly. 

The Town Justice is part-time and receives a stipend.  While training in the law might be helpful, it is not required.  New York State offers courses to train new and continuing justices.

Town of Hamilton Democrats will caucus at a publicly announced time during the summer to nominate candidates. Those wanting to be considered for nomination at that time should contact any member of the Executive Committee: Wanda Warren Berry, Chair;  Jim Bona, Vice Chair; Clara Lantz, Treasurer; Deborah Sill Kliman, Secretary; Charlie Naef, Regional Vice-Chair for the County Democratic Committee; and Dorothy Usher Betz, State Committee Member.

 For more information about becoming a candidate, please email. =>   email graphic